Meet Pig Iron Theatre Company

Meet Pig Iron

Meet our artistic directors, company members, staff and board.

Co-Artistic Directors

Quinn Bauriedel Artistic Director

Since 1995, Quinn has been one of the leading artists with the company, co-creating many of the company's 30+ original works of theatre and touring them to venues and festivals in Brazil, Germany, Scotland, England, Romania, Poland, Peru, Italy, Ukraine, Lithuania, and Ireland, among others. Additionally, Quinn and Pig Iron regularly present their work in New York City and have toured throughout the States including engagements in San Francisco, Washington, DC, Princeton, Providence, Cambridge, Atlanta, Tampa, Logan (Utah), among others. He has directed, designed, and performed with the company since its inception. Quinn is the Program Director of Pig Iron School, a physical theatre school rooted in Lecoq pedagogy and ensemble theatre practice that offers MFA and certificate programs in Devised Performance through a partnership with the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, as well as workshops, residencies, and other training opportunities. Additionally, he has been on the faculty of Swarthmore College and the Headlong Performance Institute and has taught courses at Princeton University, as well as taught professional theatre training workshops in Philadelphia, New York, and San Francisco for the past 15 years.

Dan Rothenberg Artistic Director

Dan is a co-founder and co-artistic director of Pig Iron Theatre Company. He has directed almost all of Pig Iron's original performance works, including the OBIE Award-winning Chekov Lizardbrain and Hell Meets Henry Halfway. Pig Iron's work has toured to 15 countries on four continents, with stops at the Humana Festival, Edinburgh Frince, Under the Radar, TR Warszawa, Konfrontacje Teatralne Festival, and Tokyo Performing Arts Market. Dan has directed three critically acclaimed premieres by Toshiki Okada for the Play Company in New York City, a national tour for the Acting company, and collaborations with the alt-comedy group Berserker Residents, new music outfit Bowerbird, and Sweden's Teater Slava. Dan teaches physical theater at the Pig Iron/UArts MFA and Certificate Programs. Pew Fellow; USA Artists Knight Fellow; Artist-in-Residence, Penn Program in Environmental Humanities.

Artistic Director Emeritus

Dito van Reigersberg

Dito is a co-founder of Pig Iron Theatre Company and has created and performed in almost all of Pig Iron's productions since 1995, including OBIE-winners Hell Meets Henry Halfway and Chekov Lizardbrain. A graduate of Swarthmore College, he trained at the Neighborhood Playhouse and the Martha Graham School of Contemporary Dance. He has also performed with Headlong, Azuka, Mauckingbird, the Arden, Bearded Ladies, Rude Mechs, 1812 Productions, The Civilians, and Nichole Canuso Dance Company. He is a Barrymore Award recipient for Best Ensemble for Mission to Mercury and for Best Choreography for Cafeteria (Pig Iron), a Barrymore nominee for Best Actor in a Musical for Hedwig (Azuka), as well as a Helen Hayes Nominee for Best Leading Actor for Hell Meets Henry Halfway. With his Pig Iron cohorts Dan Rothenberg and Quinn Bauriedel, he was named a Pew Fellow (2002) and a Knight USA Fellow (2010). Dito's alter-ego Martha Graham Cracker is famously "the tallest drag queen in the world" and her monthly cabaret series at L'Etage in Philadelphia has been running for other 13 years.



Caity Cook General Manager

Shaun Furter Development and Executive Coordinator

Jasmine Jiang Managing Director

Anderson Molina School and Office Administrator

Francesca Montanile Artistic Assistant

Emily Pierattini Marketing Coordinator

Salvador Placensia Assistant Production Manager

Kate Sparacio Production and Facilities Manager

Eva Steinmetz Artistic Producer

Board of Directors

Ricki Eisenstein (President)

Shelley Z. Green (Vice-President)

Whitney Peeling (Secretary)

Terry Guerin (Past President)

Gabriel Quinn Bauriedel

Jennifer Bohnenberger

Ty Hoffman

Allen Kuharski

Scott Reynolds

Dan Rothenberg

David Sacker

Dito van Reigersberg

Jacinta Yelland

Founding and Original Company Members

Quinn Bauriedel, Emmanuelle Delpech, Cassandra Friend, Suli Holum, Nate Read, Jay Rhoderick, Dan RothenbergSarah Sanford, Geoff Sobelle, James Sugg, Dito van Reigersberg, Telory Williamson